Yi Hou

Perovskite & Organic devices


Department  of  Chemical  and  Biomolecular  Engineering, Solar  Energy  Research  Institute  of  Singapore  (SERIS), National  University  of Singapore, Singapore.




Email: yi.hou@nus.edu.sg



Prof. Yi Hou is currently an Assistant Professor of the Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering, the National University of Singapore and the Head of the Perovskite-based Multijunction Solar Cell Group. Dr. Hou received his Ph.D. degree from the University of Erlangen-Nuremberg. Then he worked as a postdoctoral fellow at Electrical & Computer Engineering, University of Toronto, Postdoctoral. His research interests include Development and investigation of ultra-efficient solar energy conversion using perovskite-based tandem solar cell, with a strong focus on the development of wide-bandgap absorbers and interface materials, and design of nano-sized optical and electrical microstructures for accelerating the tandem production from lab to fab.

Abstract for Presentation

Emerging Perovskites-based Tandem Solar Cells: towards efficient, stable, and commercially viable photovoltaics 


The development of perovskite-based tandem  solar cells represents a promising strategy  to  enhance  the  performance  of  traditional  photovoltaics  beyond  the  singlejunction  Shockley-Queisser  limit.  This  talk  will  deliver  the  rationale  behind  widebandgap perovskite design for  the different tandems [1-3] , explain how the thin-filmbased  tandem  solar  cells  reached  high  efficiencies,  and  unveil  the  potential  of  this technology. The advances reported herein show that it is possible  –  and powerful  –  to marry the traditional PVs and perovskite technologies in tandems.


[1].  Wei Chen, Yudong Zhu, Jingwei Xiu, Guocong Chen, Haoming Liang, Shunchang Liu, Hansong Xue, Erik Birgersson, Jian Wei Ho, Xinshun Qin, Jingyang Lin, Ruijie Ma, Tao Liu, Yanling  He, Alan Man-Ching Ng, Xugang Guo, Zhubing He, He Yan, Aleksandra B. Djurišić and Yi Hou. Nature Energy, 7, 229 (2022).

[2]. Fan Fu, Jia Li, Terry Chien-Jen Yang, Haoming Liang, Antonin Faes, Quentin Jeangros, Christophe Ballif, and Yi Hou. Advanced Materials, 2106540 (2022).

[3]. Yi Hou, Erkan Aydin, Michele De Bastiani, Chuanxiao Xiao, Furkan H. Isikgor, Ding-Jiang Xue,Bin Chen, Hao Chen, Behzad Bahrami, Ashraful H. Chowdhury, Andrew Johnston, Se-Woong Baek, Ziru Huang, Mingyang Wei, Yitong Dong, Joel  Troughton, Rawan Jalmood, Alessandro J. Mirabelli, Thomas G. Allen,  Emmanuel Van  Kerschaver,  Makhsud  I.  Saidaminov,Derya  Baran,  Qiquan  Qiao,  Kai  Zhu, Stefaan De Wolf, and Edward H. Sargent. Science, 367, 1135 (2020).